menu

Do I Need A License For A Moped In Georgia?

Posted in Pedestrian Accidents on March 2, 2020

Mopeds have become an increasingly popular method of transportation for Georgia citizens, but understanding Georgia moped laws can be confusing. In this state, laws and regulations for scooters, electric bicycles, and mopeds all differ when it comes to license, insurance, and registration requirements. It is important to know whether or not you need a license to operate a moped in Georgia.

Do you need a license for a moped?

Do you need a license for a moped?

Georgia law requires that all moped operators carry a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit. These vehicles cannot be ridden if a rider has neither of those types of licenses.

What does the law define as a moped in Georgia?

Under Georgia law, a moped is defined as any motor-driven vehicle with an engine that does not exceed 50 cubic centimeters (3.05 cubic inches). Riders do not need to register a moped with the Department of Motor Vehicles in Georgia.

What other requirements are there for riding a moped?

There are several rules in place that regulate moped operation in Georgia. This includes the following:

  • Riders must be at least 15 years old to operate a moped.
  • Moped riders must have appropriate protective headgear (an approved motorcycle helmet).
  • Everyone operating a moped on the roadway must obey the same traffic laws as any other motor vehicle.
  • Moped riders are limited to roads where the speed limit is 35 mph or less.
  • Moped riders are not required to carry insurance.
  • Mopeds cannot have the capability of exceeding 30 mph on a level surface.

Scooters are different

Georgia law is different regarding scooters, which are defined as vehicles having engines over 50 cubic centimeters. These vehicles are subject to the same licensing, registration, and insurance requirements as motorcycles. To legally operate a scooter in Georgia, a person must have their motorcycle license, which can be obtained by anyone at least 17 years old who has passed a knowledge test, road skills test, and vision exam. The following insurance requirements are also in place for those who wish to operate a scooter:

  • Bodily injury liability insurance: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability insurance: $25,000 per accident

Injuries caused by moped accidents

Accidents involving mopeds and traditional passenger vehicles often result in severe injuries. A moped rider has very little protection from the force of a vehicle slamming into them. Even when a moped rider is wearing a helmet, they are very likely to sustain severe injuries, including the following:

  • Spinal cord injuries
  • Whiplash injuries
  • Traumatic brain injuries
  • Concussions
  • Broken and dislocated bones
  • Severe lacerations
  • Internal organ damage
  • Internal bleeding

Each of these injuries can result in major medical expenses for a victim. They can also lead to other “hidden costs” such as lost income if a victim cannot work as well as tremendous pain and suffering damages.

Who is liable in a moped accident?

Fault in a moped accident will be determined the same way that fault is determined in an accident involving two traditional passenger vehicles. If a moped rider is struck by a passenger vehicle, they may be entitled to compensation through the at-fault driver’s insurance. This could include coverage of their medical bills, lost income if they cannot work, as well as pain and suffering damages.

VERDICTS save lives: watch this video about our firm's record-setting verdict. Close