menu

Georgia Moped and Scooter Laws

Posted in Auto Product Liability on August 5, 2020

Mopeds and scooters are increasingly popular methods of transportation on the roadways in Georgia. However, most people do not realize that these vehicles are relatively strictly regulated by the state. It is important to understand that the laws surrounding mopeds and scooters are in place to increase the safety of everybody on the roadway. Here, we want to discuss Georgia’s moped and scooter laws, as well as some of the dangers that these vehicles can present.

The laws differ depending on the vehicle

Georgia has various laws in place regarding mopeds, scooters, and electric bikes. These laws revolve around the size of the engine and the speed of these vehicles. They each have different requirements for registration, licenses, and insurance.

Georgia moped laws

Georgia law O.C.G.A. § 40-1-1(28) defines mopeds as two- or three-wheeled vehicles capable of producing a maximum of 2 horsepower, or an engine displacement of 49 cc or less. Because of the lack of power that mopeds have when compared to other vehicles, they cannot be operated on public roads that have a speed limit greater than 35 mph.

In order to operate a moped in Georgia, a person must be 15 years of age and hold a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit. Unlike in other states, mopeds do not need to be registered in Georgia, and moped riders do not have to carry insurance. Moped riders are required to wear a DOT-approved helmet.

Georgia scooter laws

Georgia law does not differentiate between scooters and motorcycles. Scooters are defined as two- or three-wheeled vehicles that have engine displacements of 50 cc or more of power. These vehicles are subject to the same license, insurance, and registration requirements as motorcycles.

In order to operate a scooter in Georgia, a person must have their motorcycle license, and the vehicle must be registered with the state of Georgia. To obtain a Georgia motorcycle license, a person must be 17 years of age and they must pass a knowledge test, a road skills test, and a vision exam. Those who pass a state-endorsed motorcycle course do not need to take the test.

Scooter riders must have the following minimum insurance coverage to be legal on the roadway:

  • Bodily injury liability insurance: $25,00 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability insurance: $25,000 per accident

Severe injuries can occur on these vehicles

Moped and scooter riders do not have much protection from the force of a vehicle slamming into them in the event an accident occurs. Unfortunately, severe injuries are not uncommon in a moped or scooter versus vehicle accident. The following injuries regularly occur in these situations:

  • Broken or dislocated bones
  • Traumatic brain injuries
  • Spinal cord trauma
  • Other severe neck and back injuries
  • Internal organ damage or internal bleeding
  • Amputations or crush injuries
  • Severe road rash, lacerations, or puncture wounds

If you or somebody you love has been injured in a moped or scooter accident in Georgia that was caused by the negligence of another person, you may be entitled to compensation. Proving liability for these cases can be difficult, but you deserve coverage for your medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering damages, and more. Dealing with insurance carriers in the aftermath of a moped or scooter accident can be incredibly difficult, and you may need assistance from an attorney to help with various aspects of your case. Our Atlanta personal injury attorneys are ready to take your call today.

COVID-19 Update: Lawyers and staff are working both remotely and in the office to provide the best legal representation to our clients. If you need assistance, please call or contact us. We can do consultations over the phone or on a video conference. For referring attorneys, we’re still open for business and want to discuss partnering with you on your cases.