Posted in Car Accidents on January 11, 2021
Technology has completely changed the way that most of us live our lives. We all essentially have little computers in our pockets in the form of mobile devices, and this can become a distraction when we are driving. Most people know that texting and driving is dangerous, but that does not stop many drivers from sending and receiving text messages, reading their emails, or browsing the Internet for the latest news. Here, we will review what Georgia law says about texting and driving, the dangers of this type of behavior, and possible penalties.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), we can see that distracted driving occurs in various ways. This includes:
Texting and driving is the trifecta of these three types of distraction. When a person reaches for a phone and starts browsing or tapping away at the keyboard, they are taking their hands off the wheel, their eyes off the road, and their mind off of driving. According to the CDC, sending or reading a text message while driving at 55 mph is like driving a length of a football field with your eyes closed.
In May of 2018, the Georgia governor signed the Hands-Free Georgia Act into law. This Act was a significant step forward in attempts to prevent car accidents in Atlanta.
In 2010, a previous Georgia law already banned the reading, writing, or sending text messages while driving, and another law already placed a ban on drivers under the age of 18 from using any wireless device at all while behind the wheel. While studies show that these measures did reduce the amount of fatal distracted driving accidents, they certainly did not eliminate the problem.
The 2018 law enacted the following measures:
A violation of any of the 2018 Hands-Free Georgia Act constitutes a misdemeanor offense punishable by $50 for a first violation, $100 for a second violation, and $150 for third or subsequent violations.
VERDICTS save lives: watch Closeabout our firm's record-setting verdict.